The Board’s prime responsibilities are strategy, risk, the monitoring of performance, and legal compliance. It delegates the day-to-day running of the Institute to the Executive under the chairmanship of the CEO. The Members’ Council and the Membership Advisory Group gives advice and guidance to the Board on the long term direction of the Institute and it’s mission. Other standing committees are Audit & Risk, Constitution & Ethics, Nominations & Remuneration and Awarding Body.

The IWFM Board consists of up to 13 members of the Institute, six of which are volunteers who must hold professional membership at Member Grade or above; for example, Member, Certified, Fellow or Honorary Fellow of the Institute. All members of the Board are registered with Companies House as non-executive directors of the Institute. 

Three other roles can be elected to the Board; Co-Opted Non-Executive Directors who are appointed by the Board based on their specialist competencies to help support both the Board and the Executive in key decision making.

All Board members are required to give appropriate undertakings in respect of confidentiality, a specific Board Non-Executive code of practice and an annual declaration of interests. The latter are reviewed by the Company Secretary and if thought appropriate referred to the Constitution and Ethics Committee for adjudication concerning any material conflict with Institute affairs and on nomination as a Director of IWFM.

The maximum length of time a Board member other than an employee can serve is three years, after which they can be re-elected for a further three years [6 consecutive years] then there must be a two year gap before re-election. The Chairman's maximum term is two years, although after that they can be re-elected to an elected position.

How the Board is made up

The current IWFM Board is made up of the following;

Martin Bell, Chair
Keith Waterman, Deputy Chair & Co-Opted Non-Executive Director
Paul Ash, Co-Opted Non-Executive Director
Mark Whittaker, Non-Executive Director 
Lucy Black, Non-Executive Director 
Donna Duckworth, Company Secretary IWFM
Catherine Gowers, Head of Finance & HR IWFM
Linda Hausmanis, CEO IWFM
Sue Hills, Non-Executive Director 
Lisa Hofen, Non-Executive Director 
Michael Kenny, Non-Executive Director 
Marilyn Standley, Non-Executive Director 
The full role of the Board is detailed in the Articles of Association and Bylaws of the Institute. For more information on our current Board members go to our team.

View Board Committee documents

IWFM Bylaws Adopted May 2017 - Rebranded


IWFM Bylaws TABLES Adopted July 2016 - Rebranded


IWFM Board Committee TABLES Adopted July 2016 - Rebranded


IWFM Conflict of Interest Policy


IWFM Articles of Associations Approved June 2019


Mr Martin G Bell