IWFM Impact Awards 2021: healthcare and sustainability dominate as FM’s contribution celebrated


  • Facilities,
  • Workplace

12 October 2021

Awards 2021

It was the contribution of people and teams in health, wellbeing and sustainability that wowed the judges at the 2021 IWFM Impact Awards, as the industry’s most prestigious event got physical again for the first time since 2019. Exemplars of the best in workplace and facilities management were celebrated at London’s JW Marriott Grosvenor House on Monday where 15 amazing winners were honoured.

In a glittering ceremony hosted by comedian and TV regular Mark Watson, 63 finalists vied for the hotly competed categories with the winners reflecting the fundamental contribution that the workplace and facilities sector is making to contemporary challenges at every level, from front line care to smart innovation.

It was also an evening of change as new IWFM Chair Mark Whittaker, in his first formal engagement since assuming the role on 1 October, paid tribute to outgoing Chair of Judges Julie Kortens, stepping down after two years in the role, and welcomed her successor, David Sharp.

Whittaker said: ‘The role of Chair of Judges is a crucial ambassadorial role for the Institute and its many demands require significant commitment. We are indebted to Julie for her outstanding service to our profession, in particular her role in safeguarding the robust standards of judging and ensuring that the IWFM Awards continues to be recognised as the gold standard within the industry. I also want to extend a very warm welcome to David Sharp, who will succeed Julie as Chair. A fellow of the Institute and long-standing lead judge, I know that David’s passionate advocacy for our profession will serve us well.’

David Sharp, CEO of International Workplace, said of his appointment: ‘I look forward with huge excitement to helping the IWFM Impact Awards continue to shine a light on the core contribution that workplace and facilities professionals make to our economy at every level today, from front line care to sustainable innovation.’

The evening’s winners in full were:

Workplace Experience: Office / Corporate Environment            

Workplace Experience Programme, Sodexo and AstraZeneca Partnership

Workplace Experience: Non-office / Corporate Environment                 

Village, Sodexo

Positive Climate Action       

Sponsored by: NG Bailey      

Plan Zero, Mitie

Social Value  

Sponsored by: 14forty

Jointforces, ISS Facility Services UK


Sponsored by: Thomson FM 

Sodexo Counselling Service supports frontline wellbeing

Diversity Initiative    

Sponsored by: PRS   

The Atalian Servest Diversity Initiative


Sponsored by: Kier Places    

Permanent Joint Operating Bases, Infrastructure Service Provider (PJOB ISP) Cyprus, Gibraltar, Falkland Island and Ascension Islands, Mitie

Product or Service Development   

Sponsored by: Ascot Services          

Paper Round partners with Vegware to launch a large-scale commercial compostables service


Sponsored by: EMCOR UK   

ISS ServicePoint - a technology solution for better patient care

Team of the Year: Private Sector   

Sponsored by: PTSG

Entertainment Team, Emaar Facilities Management

Team of the Year: Non-private Sector       

Sponsored by: PTSG

Royal Derby Hospital Portering Team, ISS Facility Services UK

Newcomer of the Year                     

Alex Ballintine, Operations Manager, Mears Facilities Management

Account Manager of the Year                    

Moses Ayoola, Business Director (Hard and Soft FM), Sodexo & Queen's Hospital, Romford

Frontline Heroes (Organisation Award)                

Merseyside team, VINCI Facilities

Frontline Hero (Individual Award) 

Sponsored by: ISS UK          

Lucy MacNeill, a true community hero and inspiration within the FM industry